If the system cannot identify your individual crash using the
information provided, you will not be able to purchase a crash report
through this automated facility.
Crash Report Online Purchase System Confidentiality
Due to their confidential nature, crash reports are not available for online viewing by the general public.
The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) is the custodian of
crash records for the State of Texas. Texas Transportation Code §550.062
requires any law enforcement officer who in the regular course of duty
investigates a motor vehicle crash that results in injury to or the
death of a person or damage to the property of any one person to the
apparent extent of $1,000 or more, to submit a written report of that
crash to TxDOT not later than the 10th day after the date of the crash.
As per Texas Transportation Code §550.065, before a crash report can be
released the requester must provide at least two of the following
pieces of information:
Costs and Ordering
- Name of any person involved in the crash
- Date of the crash
- Location of the crash
- $6 for a regular copy
for a certified copy - A certified copy is requested when a person
needs an official document, such as for a legal proceeding.
Our Records Technician may be contacted at (972) 317-5558 ext. 555 if you have any further questions.